Things I learned today- 3/29/12

1. I spent the evening with one of my students and his family at The Mayor’s Art Show.  This is the first time I have had a student whose art was selected, and it was really cool!  His art is hanging up in the Frist Center, and he got his photo taken with the mayor.

2. I also went out to eat papusas with my student and his family.  Papusas are native to El Salvador, and I would liken them to really thick tortillas full of beans and cheese. You put this cabbage mixture called curtido on top of them, which adds some crunch.  Yummy!  I tried a drink called horchata, which is made with rice and milk.  It was okay, but not as good as the papusas.  All in all, it was a day full of new adventures.  Check out the papusas below:

3. My cell phone is missing.  It is somewhere in my portable, but I can’t find it.  Super frustrating!!

4. Google has made self-driving cars.  First off, I didn’t know Google invented things.  Secondly, that just sounds crazy!  Below is a video of the self-driving car taking a blind man to Taco Bell.  I do think he should have chosen a classier location for his test drive destination.  Maybe Arby’s?

 

Leave a Reply

