Things I learned today- 7/4-7/6/13

1. On Thursday, I learned that my good friend’s daughter, Megan, passed away Wednesday night.  She was only 20 years old.  They don’t know the cause, but it just makes my heart hurt.  Two years ago on the 4th of July, I sat beside my Grandma as she passed from this world to the next.  She was 90 years old and had lived a good, long life.  Megan was only 20 and had so much more life to live.

2. I am rethinking my opinion of fireworks now that I have a baby.  Normally, I love them.  Now, I’m more like, “Enough already!  My baby is sleeping!!  It’s not July 4th anymore, give it a rest!”

3. I woke up Friday with a horrible stomach virus.  It was seriously evil.  I felt like I was dying.  I don’t think I have felt that awful since I got food poisoning in Bolivia on a college missions trip.  Mike did a great job of taking care of Sammy all day, as I didn’t want him to catch my disease and tried to stay away from him.  This morning I woke up and was pretty much back to normal, thank goodness!

4. I attended the funeral of my friend Rosetta’s daughter today.  I have been to many funerals, but this is the only one I’ve been to for someone so young.  As I hugged Rosetta and cried with her, I found it hard to imagine how difficult it would be to lose your child.  Sammy has only been here on Earth for seven months, and it is hard to remember life without him.  I do not usually ask for prayer requests or even discuss many serious topics on this blog, but if you are someone who prays, please could you include my friend Rosetta in your prayers?  I know she will need them in the days ahead.

Leave a Reply

