Things I learned the last two days- 8/15- 8/16/13

1. According to my eye doctor, the scars on the backs of my eyes are caused by toxoplasmosis, not histoplasmosis as he previously thought.  I asked him, “What difference does that make?”  He told me that histoplasmosis is an infection you get from bird droppings.  It causes the scars, but then is done.  Toxoplasmosis is caused by a parasite that you can contract from cats.  Remnants of the parasite are still in my eyeballs and can reactivate.  Um, gross!!  I told him he could have kept that information to himself.  He then made a joke about those creepy eye worms in the show “Falling Skies.”  Not cool, Dr. Hyatt, not cool.

2. So, I have definitely lost my chance at the Mom of the Year Award.  Thursday afternoon, I laid Sammy on the bed with my cell phone (he loves cell phones), so I could quickly put my hair up into a ponytail.  I turned around just in time to see Sammy drop the phone on the floor, then roll off the bed trying to get it, landing face-down on Mike’s Bible.  I ran over to pick him up.  He was crying so hard it made him start coughing, and then he threw up everywhere.  I called his doctor and ended up bringing him in to get checked out.  He was given a clean bill of health, but I still feel like a horrible mother.  He doesn’t even have any bruises!  Babies are tougher than they look.

3. I lost 2.6 lbs this week at Weight Watchers!  Woo woo!  I gained 2.4 lbs last week, so I was pretty happy for this news.

4. Sammy and I met my friends Brooke and Amanda at Pollo Tropical in Smyrna.  I have been wanting to try the food there since it opened several months ago.  I got fajitas and black beans, and everything was yummy!  I will definitely be back to try the tostones, which the couple at the table next to us recommended.  I also ran into one of my favorite former students, who is now in fifth grade!  It was great to give her a hug and introduce her to Sammy.  She is such a sweetie!

2 thoughts on “Things I learned the last two days- 8/15- 8/16/13

Leave a Reply

