Things I learned lately- 8/28-9/1/13

1. Wednesday was our last day of having 12 toddlers, and it was also Fussy Pants Day for our class.  I think that during lunch 10 of 12 toddlers were screaming their heads off.  I am really glad we will only have 11 toddlers from now on, and next week we will have Monday off.

2. So, I finally watched the Miley Cyrus VMA performance that everyone has been up in arms about. (Sorry I am weighing in on this a week late.)  Honestly, it just made me sad.   I am going to climb on my soap box for just a few minutes to explain why:

  • As a former second grade teacher, I know a lot of my girls looked up to and admired Miley Cyrus.  “Hannah Montana” was not that long ago, and many of them probably still have their Miley Cyrus backpacks.  I would hate to think that any of my former students watched that performance and thought it was something to aspire to.
  • I am a big fan of women singer/songwriters.  Patty Griffin, Adele, Norah Jones, Fiona Apple- these are my girls.  They are talented and amazing, and therefore do not have to “twerk” around stage in their underwear, humping a foam finger. (Honestly, I was embarrassed for foam fingers everywhere.)  Have a little respect for yourself, Miley.
  • No one seems to be talking much about how the very married and way older Robin Thicke seemed perfectly fine with Miley being all over him.  Maybe his wife, who is amazingly gorgeous, is cool with that kind of thing.  I would not be.
  • Has anyone actually listened to the lyrics of “Blurred Lines?”  Yeah, it’s catchy, but also pretty disgusting.  I miss the days when the fairly innocent, if annoying, “Call Me Maybe” was the song of the summer.

3. Sammy and I rented “Admission” Friday night from the Redbox.  It was not what I was expecting, but I did really enjoy it.  I rented it expecting a Tina Fey/Paul Rudd romantic comedy.  It was less romantic comedy and more comedy/good story.  There is a little romance, and I did laugh at multiple parts, but it was more the story of how one woman changes her life.  I recommend!

4. Saturday, Mike and I managed to get both dogs bathed.  Georgia celebrated her first bath in months by sliding sideways down the hill in our backyard with her tongue hanging out.  She is just so dumb.

5. We finally got out the baby pool my mom purchased for Sammy, referenced in this post.  Sammy had a lot of fun playing with all his bath toys.  He only tipped over a couple of times, and I managed to catch him.  Toe update: Part of his toe is back to normal toe color.  So, that’s good. 🙂

Sammy enjoying his pool

Sammy enjoying his pool

6. Saturday night was the first night in the WOC Fall Sermon Series.  If you live near Murfreesboro, TN, you should totally come check it out!  Not only is Pastor Allen Jackson layin’ down some sweet sermons, but there is also special music, a fire truck to climb on, sports cars in the lobby, and the Julia’s Bakery truck in the courtyard.  Woo woo!

7. I know I am really late to this party, but I have started reading the first book in the “Game of Thrones” series.  For the first several chapters I was really confused and thought about putting it down, but now I am hooked!!  Seriously, I hope Mike doesn’t expect me to get much done around the house until I finish it.

8. My folks volunteered to watch Sammy tonight so Mike and I could have a date night. We were pretty pumped.  We went to see “The World’s End” and then to Panera for dinner.  If you have not seen the other films in the Cornetto Trilogy- “Shaun of the Dead” and “Hot Fuzz”- I really recommend them all.  “Hot Fuzz” will forever be my favorite, as Mike and I have watched it so many times we practically have it memorized.  However, “The World’s End” is an excellent addition to the trilogy.  There are laughs, action, and even a bit of romance.  There is a lot of language- not kid-approved- but definitely a good time!

9. It is finally happening.  I saw the preview for “Ender’s Game” at tonight’s movie.  I am equal parts excited and scared they will screw up one of my favorite books.  I was happy to see that both Harrison Ford and Hailee Stanfield (the awesome girl from “True Grit”) are in the cast.  It definitely looks promising…

 

Leave a Reply

