Things I learned lately- 11/9-11/11/13

1. Yet again, out-of-town relatives gave us a day of advance notice that they were coming to visit.  Here’s the thing, I grew up in the south, and I am all about southern hospitality.  I want to make people feel welcome in my home, but I need more than a day to make my home welcoming.  I am not Ms. Keeps a Clean House.  I’m just not, nor do I ever think I will be.  People say, “We don’t care, we just want to come see Sammy.”  Well, you may not care, but I do.  If I know company is coming, I want my house to be clean, especially if said company has never seen my house before and will probably want a tour.  I want our relatives to come visit and see Sammy as much as possible, just PLEASE let us know ahead of time.  You know, maybe check your calendar and find a weekend that looks good, and then check with us to make sure we aren’t busy.  (Yeah, we had plans this weekend, thanks for asking, surprise visitors!)  Giving Mike and I one day to get the whole house clean makes us stressed and irritable, and generally not fun to be around.

2. Sammy has had a fever and generally not been feeling well since Saturday evening.  We have been watching a lot of Cookie Monster on youtube.  When he’s sick, it’s one of the few things that he seems to enjoy.

3. My Titans lost to Jacksonville on Sunday.  Yes, you heard me correctly.  Jacksonville.  The team that had previously won 0 games.  Now their record is 1-8, thanks to the generosity of the Titans.  Not only did we lose, but Jake Locker got hurt and will be out the rest of the season.  Worst. Sunday. Ever.

4. To keep with the bad news theme, I did TERRIBLE this week in the Pro Pick ‘Em League.  Out of 14 games, I only picked 5 correctly.  It was just bad.  The only good football news of the whole weekend is that my fantasy team won (sorry Miriam!) and is now 4-6.

5. The G Clan Thanksgiving and Operation Christmas Child shoebox packing was a blast on Sunday!  We ate some really delicious food, and then packed 18 boxes for needy children all over the world.  If you have never packed a shoebox before, it is not too late!  Collection Week is November 18-25.  Check out the Operation Christmas Child website for more info.

6. I stayed home from Mother’s Day Out today to take care of the sickie Sammy.  I started to stress out about not being there, and things not getting done.  Then, I remembered that I don’t teach for Metro anymore.  I can miss a day without freaking out or making 10-page sub plans.  *sigh of relief*

4 thoughts on “Things I learned lately- 11/9-11/11/13

  1. Congrats on your win – I can deal with it since you’re having a rough week. I was really hoping to move up in the Pick ‘Ems, but stupid Miami had to go let Tampa Bay win their first game…

Leave a Reply

