Things I learned the last two days- 11/15-11/16/13

1. If you leave a bowl of pudding in the fridge for too long, it will petrify.  Seriously, it turned into little chocolate lava rocks.  I had to soak the bowl for two days in order to remove the petrified pudding.  Maybe I should start cleaning out my fridge more often…

2. Sammy is allergic to eggs.  I think.  Today at the Hope Center, I let him have a few bites of Nan’s grits.  (I hate all grits, except for Nan’s.  They are amazing!!)  Shortly thereafter, red splotches began appearing around his mouth, on his cheeks, and he began rubbing his eyes vigorously.  I asked Nan what was in the grits- probably should have done that before giving them to Sammy- and she listed grits, butter, cheese, and eggs.  Uh-Oh.  I hopped in the car and raced to Kroger for some children’s Benadryl.  1/4 of a teaspoon later, Sammy started to look much better.  The red splotches faded, he stopped rubbing his eyes, and he went back to his happy little self.  Moral of the story: Don’t share your grits. (I didn’t want to, they are that good.)

3. In good news, the snowman light bulb ornaments that we helped the ladies make at the Hope Center turned out super cute!  Here is a really great tutorial on how to make them.

Cute and easy DIY ornaments

Cute and easy DIY ornaments

4. Mike and I watched some “Sons of Anarchy” this evening.  Spoiler Alert if you haven’t watched Season Four: I can’t believe Clay killed Piney!  I really didn’t see that coming.  Also, Chuckie cooked some dude’s head in the chili he was making, which was a total knock-off of “Secret’s in the sauce” from “Fried Green Tomatoes,” in my opinion.

Leave a Reply

