Things I learned lately- 11/25-11/27/13

1. I am again in next to last place in the Pro Pick ‘Em League this week, but my fantasy team is doing awesome!!  I won again this week and have moved to 3rd place.  Go Schlegenators!

2. This week’s episode of “How I Met Your Mother” was done completely in rhyme.  That sounds kind of annoying, but it was surprisingly funny.

3. Sammy’s cough sounded even worse yesterday, so we headed back to the doctor’s office. (Note: Sammy has been to the doctor every week for the past three weeks.  Poor kid.)  Turns out, he has bronchiolitis.  This is a big name for a virus that they can do nothing about.  Basically, I am just supposed to watch that his fever doesn’t spike, which could indicate an ear infection or pneumonia.  I am a hypochondriac, so I am convinced he has pneumonia about every two hours.

4. I watched my first cheesy ABC Family Christmas movie of the season- “Christmas Bounty.”  It was ridiculous.  The main character was a former bounty hunter turned elementary teacher.  I think the people making the movie confused bounty hunter with ninja.  There were lots of “awesome” fight scenes.  If you are in the mood to just let your brain check out completely, I recommend tuning in the next time they play “Christmas Bounty.”

5. I met my friend Sus and her new friend from China- Sissi- for lunch today at Rotier’s.  I have only been to Rotier’s one other time, and I remember thinking it was kind of a dive with good food.  I was right!  Sus has spent a good deal of time hunting for the best burger in Nashville, and she recommended Rotier’s cheeseburger on French bread.  It was a delicious experience.  Sissi let me try her fried zucchini, which I would also recommend.  Sammy received a lot of attention from everyone, and since we were sitting right by the kitchen, I didn’t feel bad when he got fussy.  All in all, I think I will be back for another cheeseburger with a side of fried zucchini.

Mmmmm.....

Mmmmm…..

6. Miriam got me Jim Gaffigan’s “Dad is Fat” for my birthday.  I finished it today, and I recommend it to all people with kids or thinking about having kids.  It cracked me up multiple times, and also convinced me to not have five kids.  Especially in a two-bedroom apartment in New York City.  I think my favorite chapter was the one on toddlerhood, probably because I recently spent a good deal of time with a large group of them.  My favorite quote about toddlers: “They have two goals: find poison and find something to destroy.”  SO TRUE!

Leave a Reply

