Things I learned in the last week or so- 9/11-9/20/14

1. Sammy is obsessed with Elmo.  Mike got him an Elmo DVD, and he will literally sit on the couch and watch all 50 minutes of it without moving.  In good news, I have used the DVD to bribe him into wearing his glasses.  No glasses, no Elmo!

2. Sammy is getting his two-year molars.  He has been chewing on his finger, not eating well, and waking up crying in the night.  NOT fun.

3. Mom and I went to our annual live theater performance for Mother’s Day on Friday night.  (It is my present to her for Mother’s Day, but we don’t always find a show we want to go to until many months later.)  We attended “Singin’ in the Rain” at the Springhouse Theater in Smyrna.  It was such a good show!  I didn’t realize I knew so many songs in it.  Everyone did a great job, but the guy playing Don Lockwood was AWESOME!  He is apparently a professional tap dancer.  Mom and I think it is the best show we’ve seen at Springhouse, for sure.

singingintherain

4. Mike and I rented “Jack Ryan: Shadow Recruit” from the Redbox on Saturday night.  It was good- exciting, entertaining, and worth $1.20.

5. Mike, Sammy, and I returned to our favorite trail around Couchville Lake on Sunday.  This week, there were no Lost Loonies, as referenced in this post, but we did see a mother deer and her baby very close-up.  People were actually feeding the mother deer tortilla chips by hand.  I took a few pictures of the super cute fawn.

Oh Deer!

Oh Deer!

6. My Titans lost to Dallas on Sunday, 10-26.  We looked about as pathetic as we made the Chiefs look last week.  Super sad face.

7.  I was rather unhappy to see one of the kids in my class sporting a Dallas jersey Sunday night.  His mom, who is my class helper, told me they had just been to the game.  The kid says, “My uncle plays for the Cowboys.”  I asked him who his uncle was, expecting him to say some name I’d never heard of.  He said, “Jason Witten.”  I about fell out of my chair!  “Jason Witten, seven-time Pro Bowl tight end is your uncle?!!”  That is crazy sauce.

8. In happier football news, my fantasy team won this week and is now 2-0, and I am still in first place in the Pro Pick ‘Em League.  Go me!

9. Mike did some research and discovered that the tiny dancing Groot I requested for my birthday is not available until January 2015.  Bummer!

10. Sammy’s new favorite word is funny.  He says it about everything.  “Dada, fun-nee.  Mama, fun-nee.  Dog, fun-nee.”  He’s so funny. 🙂

Silly Sammy!

Silly Sammy!

Leave a comment